The Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists Foundation Inc. presents the Bob Eddy Scholarship Program To Foster Journalism Careers

We are now taking submissions for the 2014 scholarship program. The deadline has been extended to April 4, 2014.

Download the application form here.

The Connecticut Professional Chapter of the Society for Professional Journalists, through its Bob Eddy Scholarship Program, is offering grants of $2,500, $1,500, $1,000 and two awards of $500 to undergraduate students pursuing careers in journalism. The awards recognize Bob Eddy, the late publisher of The Hartford Courant, and founder of the Connecticut SPJ chapter; the late Richard Peck, a veteran news reporter and city editor of The Connecticut Post; the late James Clark, a veteran reporter for The Connecticut Post, a longtime member of the Connecticut SPJ Scholarship Committee, and a former president of Connecticut SPJ; and the late Pat Child, former WTNH-TV videographer.

Past Connecticut SPJ Scholarship Recipients 1981-2013


 $2,500: Brianna Gurciullo, George Washington Univeristy

 $1,500: Kristin Stoller, Penn State University

 $1,000: Shaquille Brewster, Howard University

 $600: Loan Le, Fairfield University

 $500: Christopher Langlois, Hofstra University

 $500: Sarah Ferris, George Washington University


 $2,500: Daniel Peterson, Boston University

 $1,500: Matthew Jones, Virginia Tech

 $1,000: Janet Edbrooke, University of Southern California

 $500 & Brigitte Greenberg Award: Christopher Langlois, Hofstra University

 $500: Bryan Morales, Central Connecticut State University


 $2,500: Amy Schellenbaum, University of Connecticut

 $1,500: Katelin Chow, University of Washington

 $1,000: Chardonee Wright, Southern Connecticut

 $500: Scott Backer, George Washington University

 $500: Ryan Morgan, Southern Connecticut


 $2,000: Katelin Chow, University of Washington

 $1,000: Emma Sokoloff-Rubin, Yale University

 $250:  Kaitlin O’Brien,  Southern Connecticut

  $250:  Jaclyn Reiss, Boston University


 $2,000: Elizabeth Bewley, Yale University

 $1,500: Jennifer Altavilla, New York University

 $1,000: Sara Peck, Northwestern University

 $250: Daniel Hollis, Lyndon State College

 $250: Allison Townsend, Southern Connecticut

Download the list of all previous winners, from 1981-2011

Copyright 2010-13. Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists. P.O. Box 5071, Woodbridge CT 06525