Bob Eddy Scholarships

The Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists Foundation Inc. presents the Bob Eddy Scholarship Program To Foster Journalism Careers

The 2024 scholarship period has ended — check back next year. 

Award amounts: $2,500, $1,500, $1,000 and $1,000 

To apply for a scholarship, students must start their junior or senior year in the fall of 2024 and be enrolled at an accredited university in Connecticut or be a Connecticut resident enrolled in an accredited university in any state or country studying journalism. Winner’s checks will be made out to student’s account, care of their school or bursar’s office.

To apply for a scholarship, you will need to complete the following:

  • Online application form
  • PDFs or other files of your work
  • A 500-word essay telling us about a recent news event that captured your interest. What steps did you take to stay informed about the event or issue? Why were you so interested in it? How did it affect you? How could reporters or outlets have told or presented the storyline differently to get people more interested?
  • Please mail unofficial transcripts to:

Lindsay Boyle
P.O. Box 5071
Woodbridge, CT 06525

Click here to complete the online application form and submit materials.

The Bob Eddy Scholarship fund is managed by the Community Foundation for Greater New Haven.

To donate to the fund, please click here to visit the donation page through the Community Foundation for Greater New Haven.

Past Connecticut SPJ Scholarship Recipients


$2,500: Madeline Papcun, University of Connecticut
$1,500: Richard Podgorski, University of Maryland
$1,000: Juliana Lepore, University of Rhode Island
$1,000: Stacey Addo, Eastern Connecticut State University
$1,000: Johanna Wolkoff, University of Maryland


$2,500: Madison langweil, Marist College
$1,500: Jacklyn Pellegrino, Quinnipiac University
$1,000: Anya Grondalski, Quinnipiac University
$1,000: Robyn Karashik, Quinnipiac University
$2,000: Michael Sicoli, Quinnipiac University (special scholarship in honor of the late Genevieve Reilly)


$2,500: Alison Cross, University of Connecticut
$1,500: Samantha Simon, Quinnipiac University
$1,000: Melody Milagros Rivera, Central Connecticut State University
$1,000: Matthew White, Keene State College
$1,000: Eric Kerr, Quinnipiac University (special scholarship in honor of the late Jack Kramer)


$2,500: Emily DiSalvo, Quinnipiac University
$1,500: Jason Edwards, Southern Connecticut State University
$1,000: Zoe Pierce, University of Maryland
$1,000: Fiona Brady, University of Connecticut


$2,500: Sarah Rose Willson, Central Connecticut State University
$1,500: Sanchali Singh, University of Maryland
$1,000: Gabriel Pietrorazio, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
$1,000: Ashley Anglisano, University of Connecticut


$2,500: Shayla Farrow, Howard University
$1,500: Sarah Al-Arshani, University of Connecticut
$1,000: Sophia Pelletier, University of Connecticut
$1,000: Hayley Leonard, Central Connecticut State University


$2,500: Sophie Jane Ota, George Washington University
$1,500: Amanda D. Morris, New York University
$1,000: Sandra Gomez-Aceves, Southern CT State University
$1,000: John V. Napolitano, Hofstra University


$2,500: Gabriel Rosenberg, Wesleyan University
$1,500: Isaac Stein, University of Chicago
$1,000: Samantha Tomaszewski, Lehigh University
$1,000: Monique Atkinson, Boston University


$2,500: Nicole Jacques, Boston University
$1,500: Sara Kozlowski, Quinnipiac University
$1,000: Rebecca Castagna, Quinnipiac University
$500: Xavier Lassiter, Southern Connecticut State University
$500: Courtney Silva, Southern Connecticut State University


$2,500: Brianna Gurciullo, George Washington Univeristy
$1,500: Kristin Stoller, Penn State University
$1,000: Shaquille Brewster, Howard University
$600: Loan Le, Fairfield University
$500: Christopher Langlois, Hofstra University
$500: Sarah Ferris, George Washington University


$2,500: Daniel Peterson, Boston University
$1,500: Matthew Jones, Virginia Tech
$1,000: Janet Edbrooke, University of Southern California
$500: Brigitte Greenberg Award: Christopher Langlois, Hofstra University
$500: Bryan Morales, Central Connecticut State University


$2,500: Amy Schellenbaum, University of Connecticut
$1,500: Katelin Chow, University of Washington
$1,000: Chardonee Wright, Southern Connecticut State University
$500: Scott Backer, George Washington University
$500: Ryan Morgan, Southern Connecticut State University


$2,000: Katelin Chow, University of Washington
$1,000: Emma Sokoloff-Rubin, Yale University
$250:  Kaitlin O’Brien,  Southern Connecticut State University
$250:  Jaclyn Reiss, Boston University


$2,000: Elizabeth Bewley, Yale University
$1,500: Jennifer Altavilla, New York University
$1,000: Sara Peck, Northwestern University
$250: Daniel Hollis, Lyndon State College
$250: Allison Townsend, Southern Connecticut State University

Download the list of all previous winners, from 1981-2011

Copyright 2010-2017. Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists, P.O. Box 5071, Woodbridge CT 06525