Bob Eddy Scholarship winners announced for 2020

The Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists has chosen its 2020 recipients of the Bob Eddy Scholarship, who together will receive a total of $6,000 from the fund.

To qualify for a scholarship, students must be entering their junior or senior year of college in fall 2020 and be enrolled at an accredited Connecticut university or be a Connecticut resident enrolled at an accredited university elsewhere.

The scholarship committee considers journalism samples, commitment to the industry, academic success and financial need when determining the winners.

The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven manages the Bob Eddy Scholarship Fund. To donate to the fund, please click here

The 2020 scholarship award winners are:

Emily DiSalvo (Bob Eddy Award – $2,500), who’s entering her third year in the 3+1 journalism program at Quinnipiac University. She has lived in Portland, Connecticut, her whole life and has always loved reading the local papers and writing. Since starting college, she has been an associate news editor, news editor and arts and life editor at the Quinnipiac Chronicle. She has interned with CT News Junkie and most recently The Hill in Washington, D.C. She also freelances for several local publications in Connecticut. After college, she hopes to move to D.C. and cover national politics or education. In her free time she enjoys playing tennis, doing yoga, reading, watching the news and spending time with her five cats.

Jason Edwards (Bob Eddy Award – $1,500), a journalism major at Southern Connecticut State University who has a minor in public relations and is going into his senior year this fall. Edwards is a photo editor for student-run Crescent magazine. He also has reported several stories for The Southern News and serves as an assistant photographer in the university’s Office of Integrated Communications and Marketing. Edwards lives in Ansonia, Connecticut, and hopes to go into journalism or public relations after graduation.

Zoe Pierce (Bob Eddy Award – $1,000), a rising junior journalism and film major at the University of Maryland. She works at the university’s independent student newspaper, The Diamondback, most recently as assistant managing editor. When not at school, she lives with her family in West Hartford, Connecticut.

Fiona Brady (Bob Eddy Award – $1,000), a rising senior at the University of Connecticut who studies journalism and political science. Her career goal is to become a TV news reporter and anchor. On campus, she’s involved in UCTV News, UConn’s student-run TV station. She also interviews professors, students, and alumni and writes articles for UConn’s Neag School of Education website. She interned at WTNH News 8 in New Haven last summer and this summer will be interning at CBS News in New York.

No comments yet

Comments are closed

Copyright 2010-2017. Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists, P.O. Box 5071, Woodbridge CT 06525